Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that, shopping is considered as the most famous free time activity whilst others believe that it has both advantages and drawbacks. This essay presents that advertisement is the primary agent for this cause and econimic economics hardships if the greatest effect it has on the person and community with a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, commercials play a significant role in increased purchasing habbit habits of the individuals. Moreover, because of the convincing advertisements, several people think that if they posses certain things or wear trending clothes, they are respected in the society. Thus, numerous citizens go shopping to buy those things on their free time. For example, a recent study conducted by The Newyork Times, found that, 2 out of 5 person go shoping to buy a product, they saw in an advertisement. On the other hand, this pattern causes financial hardships to the individuals and the society. In other words, many people take loan from other person or the financial institution to satisfy their shopping habbits. This action puts them under a financial debt that they cannot repay. To exemplify, most of the college students buy new clothes every week with a credit card, eventhough they know that they will not be able to clear the credit on time. Hence, the shopping trend has negative effects overall on our community. In conclusion, purchasing new things has become highly popular activity in the free time of the individuals as a result of the advertisements on different media and it has counter effect on both people and the society by putting them in debts that they cannot pack back.