Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

In the recent decade, almost every country is desperate to develop the economy as it is believed by some people that is the only way to solve world poverty issue. However, there are still many others who are holding the view that financial growth is causing us more harm than good as it destroys the environment. In this essay, I will discuss both views and present my opinion on this matter. On the one hand, it is obviously true that poor nations are those countries with a sick economy. For instance, once the financial has big problems, it will inevitably lead to a lack of money in circulation. To be more precise, in such states job opportunities are less, and people cannot earn their livelihood or even emigrate to another place for a better life. Furthermore, another consequence for a poor nation is that the medical condition is usually very bad, so that deceases and pandemics are more than common, which will then result in a worse living situation. Therefore, no wonder citizens in such a country are planning to move out to a better place for them to put better food on the table and to achieve their dreams. This can only happen in a nation with a booming economy. That is why many governments are putting economic growth as their priority. On the other hand, we all admit that economies are growing at the expense of the environment. For example, city expansion, new buildings, the fast transportation system are all direct reasons that contribute to the carbon dioxide emission, reaching to a warning height. As natural resources have been fully explored, global warming is now an undisputed issue for everyone to concern. So, if we continually chasing the benefits of a prosperous economy, the chances are, we may lose our habitat forever. Eventually, there won’t be any form of economic pursue, rather only a bare land and the real poverty for human beings to bear. In conclusion, a thriving financial condition is a basis for a better life, but concerning the current rate of consuming the resources of the earth, it will no longer be able to meet up with our demand. As a result, my view is that we need to fight poverty by investing in our economy in a more sustainable way. If this is not done, we will either die of hunger or of our polluted surroundings.