In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

At present, most of the elderly population are left under the care of home-cares due to the fact that the younger family members are too busy with their work and could not provide sufficient care and attention for the later. In addition, some of the family members even fail to provide financial support. Hence, the government has left no choice but to pay for their care. Some people believe financial responsibility should be given to the family, however, I strongly believe that the government should take greater responsibility. This argument is supported by stating some of the reasons why I agree. First and foremost, there are variations in each family's financial capabilities. Some can provide sufficient support for the elderly, while some fail to do so. This instability is risky, therefore the government, which has sufficient resources could somehow assist them instead. For instance, a family member may have no job when an elderly needs hospitalisation. In this case, giving the responsibility to the government will be an advantage. Moreover, a majority of the elderly had been productive during their earlier life. Some of them have paid insurances, government fees and taxes. These contributions had been helpful in establishing the government. Hence, in return, the government should help them, now that they already are debilitated. For example, as an intake coordinator for insurances, I am aware that in the United States, productive citizens, who work in a company are paying monthly contributions for their Medicare insurances. When the time comes that these citizens became old and sick, the government is mandated to support their needs. In summary, financial support for elderly citizens should be a responsibility for both the family and the government. However, because the government is more stable they should take greater responsibility.