Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that children should be motivated to be competitive, while others feel that cooperation is a more important value to establish in the young. I believe that while competition can help children be successful, cooperation is more important because it teaches them to work within a team, a crucial skill for them to possess as they enter adulthood. Some argue that it is important that young people are pushed to be the best they can possibly be in whatever pursuit they take part in. This drive to win boosts their work ethic and teaches them that hard work and discipline are the keys to success. For example, it was shown in a recent study by Queen’s University that students who won something in sports before they reached the age of 14 were 42% more likely to go on to third-level education than those who did not. Despite this, I would argue that the development of a child requires not only a will to win, but also lessons on the value of teamwork. Working as part of a team, on the other hand, strengthens our empathy, selflessness and makes us more responsible toward others. This means that children who are taught cooperation will be better prepared for adult life because the ability to work as part of a team is highly regarded in the workplace and in families. For example, Michael Jordan was often criticised by his coaches for being too competitive in practice and overly critical of his teammates and he had to change for the sake of his team. I therefore believe that teaching children to work with others is more important than giving them a sense of competition. In conclusion, while instilling a sense of competition in children can help them succeed, I think that teaching children to be cooperative gives them the ability to work as part of team, which is far more valuable later in life.