Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

In recent decades, most of the countries choose economic growth as their goal of development, because it is important to diminish poverty. However, some people might say that economic development will destroy the environment, so we should stop developing our GDP right away. In this essay, I will elaborate both sides with some consideration, and give my own opinion about this issue. On the one hand, a booming economy is important to reduce the poorness in a country in various ways. At the first place, developing economy will create an enormous number of job opportunities, which is an essential factor of ending poor living standard. Imagine that if people are all unemployed, how can they purchase the food they need? Even worse, how can they afford medical treatments when they get sick? Meanwhile, when a nation’s GDP is improved, the government will have more budget to allocate to the remote villages by constructing more infrastructures, which can aid those rural areas to become rich. Therefore, economic development can definitely restrain, or even dispel the poor situation eventually. On the other hand, it is also true that economic growth brings a negative effect on the currently suffering planet. One of the obvious examples is the disappearance of wildlife habitats due to city expansion. As we all know that highly developed requirements on our annual revenue will ultimately lead to different extent of urbanization. As a result, the diversity of the ecosystem will be destroyed, which is also a very critical situation for everyone to confront. Furthermore, increasing production will increase the emission of carbon dioxide. As the result, the greenhouse effect will be aggravated. Therefore, we need to be very careful when we are making developing schemes and make sure it won’t bring any irreversible effect on our living planet. In conclusion, I believe that both economic growth and earth surroundings are significant for human society. I think we should develop the economy with a more sustainable way in the future. In this way only, we can end famine and protect the habitat at the same time.