Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think it is better to work for different organisations.

When an individual graduate from the university, he never knows which organisation he will work for and how his career will progress over time. However, we all aspire to have a fulfilling career working with either few organisations or with many employers. Is it beneficial for an individual to be loyal to an employer throughout his working life? In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of working with a single employer. Firstly, not everyone will be fortunate to secure employment with an organisation that fits perfectly with their culture and ethics. However, some individuals are lucky to be employed in a firm which they view as a great place to work and develop their profession. Organisations like these often give their employees a sense of security and they are usually offered a good working environment to develop and grow from a career perspective. Although, there is a general belief that an individual may not fully know his worth unless he seeks job vacancy elsewhere. That is the reason why some workers tend to seek new opportunities with other firms either when they require a higher paying job or when their aspiration has shifted towards engaging in more challenging roles. Also, there may be significant long-term benefits if an individual is able to demonstrate on his resume that he has experienced different work environment and culture as some employers sometimes place value on this. For example, I have only worked with very few organisations and I am lucky to be working with an organisation that I love at the moment. However, I am at a point where I feel I should be seeking external growth opportunities, maybe with any of my current employer's competitors, as this will be beneficial to my personal growth in the future. Finally, what matters most is one's professional growth and personal fulfilment irrespective of whether or not this is achieved within a single company or with multiple employers.