In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of renting homes?

In early 1990s, buying houses was a common mindset of many people. However, renting homes is more popular than owning houses recently. Although renting properties provides tons of benefits in the short-term saving and time on obtaining one, it has a long-term financial problems. This essay aims to illustrate the values and drawbacks of renting an accomodation. To begin with, the rental home is beneficial in the short run. First, renting helps to save up money for several years. According to a study, the monthly payment for renting a property in Philadelphia is nearly $1400, which is relatively cheap comparing to the total mortgage. In other words, the owner can have more spare money when opting to rent a home. Secondly, the approval time before moving in is speedy. Normally, it takes 5 days on completing all paperworks and checking background information. Hence, people do not have to wait long for starting to live in a rental house. On the other hands, the normal processing time of purchasing a property can take up to one month. Therefore, it is undeniable that renting provides people multiple advantages. Although there are many benefits to entering a lease instead of buying ones, leasing has its own disadvantages. First, the short-term cost benefit starts to deteriorate after 10 years of renting. To be more specific, there is an annual increase in every rental property. This will accumulate to a much bigger sum after 10 years because of the law of compounding interest. Therefore, many people prefer buying houses after several years of renting. In addition, rentors do not typically get back the money which is spent on fixing broken parts of the rental house. When a part of the home is broken, home renters have to allocate budget for fixing it. This money will not likely to be reimbursed. Thus, they lose all of it. In short, there are many downsides of renting a house. In conclusion, while renting a property is beneficial in many ways, it has several pitfalls. The short-term financial benefit and quick waiting time are two advantages. On the other hand, the drawbacks of renting are the long-term cost and the inability to get back the money on fixing the house. In the early 1990s, buying houses was a common mindset of many people. However, renting homes is more popular than owning houses recently. Although renting properties provides tons of benefits in the short-term saving and time on obtaining one, it has long-term financial problems. This essay aims to illustrate the values and drawbacks of renting