Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the number of working parents in society has tremendously increased. This has caused their children to have more free time without their parents. This causes some people to debate that it is always advised to promote children to take part in activities in groups whereas others say spending this time alone is also important. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, some people argue that children should be given free time on their own. Children with spare time alone have a unique set of benefits such as they can learn to survive alone. Such children are capable of self-evaluating themselves to analyze consciously of what they are doing, as a result, they are able to identify and show significant improvement in their talents. Therefore, having the time to spend alone would obviously help them focus better on their studies. On the other hand, the rest of the people argue that children spending their free time participating in activities conducted as a group is also important. This has a few merits on own that is children would get the chance to meet and work other children with different backgrounds which would provide them with social interactions. Another example is that children would be given the chance to perform tasks in teams improving their leadership and interpersonal skills. Consequently, this helps children to handle themselves in public and with others. To summarise, children spending time alone and also in group work has benefits of its own. However, I believe that group work is more important because it would help them transform themselves to become extroverts in the future. This would surely decrease the chance of becoming socially awkward.