Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

In today's world, a lot of highly developed industrial regions experience economic growth. It is velieved by some part of th epopulation that this tendency might be the way to solve the world poverty while others consider that it has a devastating impact on the ecology. To begin with, on the one hand, when the economy growth it is likely to lead to a decrease in unemployment rate and improvements in standards of living. This is because of the fact that not only will companies require more employees to increase their production but also since the governmnent might put more benefits for those who choose to work in order to ecnourage the society to be more productive. Therefore, the efficiency and productivity will rise and, in turn, it is likely to reduce the price level, consequently nutrition will become more affordable for poor part of the population. For instance, recent research has shown that when the UK experienced economic growth in 2015 the level of national happiness has increased by 20% and the number of those who go hungry also has decreased significantly. However, on the other hand, this trend might have a harmful effect on the environment and natural resources which are unsustainable. This is due to the fact that not only do factories produce a tremendous amount of emissions due to the increased production but also they use a lot of scarce resources which might eventually run out. As a result, the state of ecoogy economy will be damaged and some natural resources might dissappear due to an overuse. For example, scientists suggest that the level of pollution has rise considerably by 30% in comparison to the last decade. Finally, to conclude, although economic growth and development could reduce the percentage of poor people and prevent starvation by providing a lot of job places and decreasing the price level this tendency might be the main reason for the environmental problems. In my opinion, the devastating impact of the pollution produced by factories should be the main concern and the reason to stop the economic growth.