Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that becoming a graduate is an ideal way to get yourself a decent job while many people emphasize more on the importance of prior work experience and interpersonal skills. In my opinion, a college degree certainly makes it easier to get hired. However, a person also needs to show maturity at their workplace which is likely to come when one has a prior hands-on experience. Becoming a graduate opens the door for many opportunities to get hired by large corporations and multinational companies. That is to say, it is much easier to earn an employer’s trust by having a degree that certifies one’s qualification. For example, many big companies have a fixed quota of hiring graduates every year. Therefore, if a person is willing to start working after they graduate it is likely they will land on a job after finishing their degree. It is also known that fresh graduates face a lot of challenges in dealing with their colleagues and superiors once they start working. In other words, people who have not worked before may be very naïve to the idea of an office. As a result, they may face delayed promotions and slow growth in their career. On the contrary, many experienced professionals who are not graduates can be seen to make their way to up faster in the same organisation because they know how to tackle their bosses and behave at the workplace. In conclusion, I think that while earning a degree is a great way to make money, but social skills and a hands-on experience of the work that one is willing to do ensures their long term success and growth.