Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extend do you think is a positive or negative development.

Nowadays, fuels such as oil, gasoline and natural gases are still the most used source of energy consumed around the world. However, some countries have started to shift their energic consumption towards greener solutions such as solar, wind and hydric powers, showing that it is possible to have renewable and sustainable forms of power. This essay supports this idea, presenting the positive aspects related to renewable energies compared to fossil fuels. Although the recent positions taken by many countries on the consume of no-renewable energies, still they are widely used, especially in developing countries. Along the decades, the extraction of petrol and natural gases, have contributed in creating an enormous amount of wastes, like plastic and oil residues, increasing dramatically the levels of pollutions; compromising the livelihood both many species. In places like the Niger Delta, the oil extraction contributed to the devastation of an entire ecosystem, polluting both people and animals. Also, another aspect is that fossil energies are limited in time and therefore need to be replaced with other forms of power to sustain the world energy demand. On this sense, many countries such as Netherland, Canada, Norway or Japan have started to shift their energy production toward renewable energies, creating centres and factories with such purpose. Solar panels and wind turbines are forms of renewable solutions applied in these countries. They are expected to last longer than fossil fuels and, in terms of energy, are efficient as much as fossil fuel, with the huge difference they are not either polluting or creating wastes. In conclusion, adopting greener solutions such as renewable energies rather than fossil fuel, are the real key to reduce both pollutants and greenhouses emission. Also, they represent a sustainable way of getting energy which is expected to last much longer than petrol.