A Government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extend do you agree?

These days the importance of welfare state is growing a lot, much more than the importance of defense, that's why i tend to believe that countries should enhance their social systems. There are two opposite points of view about this issue. The ones that are in favour of my statement base their thoughts on the concept in which the social state is the most important milestone of the humanity. There can be no doubt that public spendind has increased our well being, bolstering our social security sistems and augmenting our incomes. Yet the Welfare State ensures the stability, it gives us the access to the education, to hospitals, school and parks,that are nowadays called "Commons". Furthermore all those social advantages could be encountered when it comes to unemployment benefit, retirements and the whole social insurance. However as the economists usually say the welfare state has created his own ruin, due to the unsustainability of a too old population that can't work to finance the public spending. The latter is the point from which it starts the argument of the ones that are against the social expenditure. Those use to think that it's much more convenient to protect the citizens from external attacks, surging the amount of money that the governments give to army, militaries and other kinds of forces. The main argument that they use is that the geopolitics doesn't go out of style, it's an evergreen, and as a result people should pay more attention to public defense. Ultimately the decision may be a difficult one, nevertheless i believe that we have to dole out our resources and the principal goal is to enhance people's lives, therefore social benefits can't be bargained.