Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

At present, many parents are often believed that children should strive for excellence in all areas of their life, pushing them to perform their best, which commonly looks reasonable in today's high-competitive world. However, doing these seemingly well-intentioned may not always lead to a favourable outcome. In a contrast, it may have an opposite result, discouraging the young generation from being proactive and self-reliant. The main reason why such a tendency is excessive pushing children to be successful is that our society is driven by perfectionism and competition, where success is defined by performance, appearance, and status. Children are also involved in this race through the expectations and reactions of parents, who verbally or even non-verbally convey judgments about success and failure, encouraging their offsprings to attain better grades and achievements. As a result, the young generation is pushed to compete with the whole world, being under psychological and emotional pressure which is engendered fears about possible failures. For instance, according to the latest research, over the last decade, the level of life satisfaction among teenagers is extremely declined because of high expectations from their parents. In my opinion, the current trend when parents are obsessed with the achievements and high performance of children negatively affects their psychological and emotional state. Instead of developing the ability to take responsibility and be able to advocate themselves, parents often form children's addiction to other people's opinions and seeking universal approval. As a result, many adolescents are less likely to develop their own, more sustainable, motivation, and ability to overcome new life challenges. For example, modern adolescents often tend to have low self-esteem, devalue themselves because of the fear of making a mistake and not being accepted by their parents and society. In conclusion, nowadays society is motivated to succeed, which frequently is broadcasted to our children, who from childhood are accustomed to competition and the need to do their best. But such motivation to succeed is not always a suitable option, as it creates excessive psychological stress, affecting self-confidence and the ability to accept life difficulties and overcome them.