People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living. Up to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Many people have a strong opinion that having knwoledge in English opens up their opportunities to a world of jobs therefore improving their living standards. I partially agree to this statement and would put forth my points in the paragraphs to follow. There are occupations that really run on how well one can converse in English. To get a breakthrough in such organizations definitely needs a high rate of literacy in the language. The major yardstick with which an employee is measured would be the expertise they hold in English. For example, call centers function only on how well conversations in English happen between a client and the staff. Such companies recruit individuals only if they clear their English test. Such work places are ready to pay their employees more if they possess a good hold on the language. This in turn improves the staff's living conditions. On the other hand, English is just but another language. There are countries which have their own dialect which is important to them. Talking to residents of such a nation in English would lead you nowhere. Say, Germany is a nation that gives preferance to personal who could converse in German. It becomes important for one to converse best in a local language to get appointed. Giving an interview to a German in English would end up in nothing but chaos. To summarize, English language is just another skill that could be accquired by anyone. Awareness of which no doubt gives an individual weightage, but not knowing it also does not cut off opportunities for another.