Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is the view of some individuals that the purpose of college education is to assist graduates in obtaining better jobs, while others contend that there are broader gains of higher education. This essay with the notion that university education has more to provide to society than just jobs for passed out students. Some people claim that the main goal of university education is to provide employment to students because that it is how the economy will prosper. They argue that money is required for creating value in society. In addition, jobs give young people a consistent purpose in life, which is essential to prevent them from engaging in crime. This is a very simplistic argument which fails to account for other factors on which creating value depends on. For example, In a survey of social scientists in Britain, 70% believed that we need to provide students with altruistic beliefs in order for them to effectively contribute to society. The individuals who argue that a rounded development of students is essential, do so because they claim that only by helping each other will students be able to provide value to society in the long run. For example, 60% of students, graduating do not invest the money they earn from their jobs back into the economy, which leads to a system of hoarding of wealth, which only helps certain individuals and does not benefit society. To conclude, while assisting students in getting jobs is an essential component of university education, we cannot ignore the altruistic element of higher education. Relying solely on providing employment oppurtunities will lead to a society in which the people do not help each other.