Some parents believe that their children should do educational activities during their free time. Others say that in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that children should be mostly engaged in the educational process rather than do some entertaining activities. Whereas, a number of people insist that it might be considered a violation of the child’s rights. However, without ignoring the importance of gaining appropriate knowledge, I am entirely sure that parents do not have any right to deprive their sons or daughters of possessing their own interests. Hence, how can the childhood be imagined without games and outdoor activities? On the one hand, the more the world develops, the more significant education becomes a tool for a better life. Therefore, parents more often than not pay attention to the intellectual development of their children, while other activities they consider a waste of time. In their opinion, the formation of academic knowledge from an early age should undoubtedly lead to a prosperous life further down the line. On the other hand, nobody would deny, that child’s development should be comprehensive, including both mental and physical aspects of evolution. Accordingly, once an individual stays away from physical activities, this will definitely have a negative impact on his educational progress as well. For example, the recent research of Oxford University illustrates that the majority of progressive students are engaged in any sports activity. Alongside it, a great number of surveys confirm the crucial role of games in the development of the child as a personality. If people were not familiar with games, they would not be capable to find proper solutions in the real life in the long run. In addition, children should acquire an opportunity to choose the activity which is more suitable and closer to him. The most salient example for this is the survey of UNESCO, which shows that children who do not have time for leisure activities tend to depression and bad behaviour much more than those whose daytime is full of games and sport. In conclusion, in order to have a healthier and happier generation, parents should allocate to their children freedom of choosing the desired type of activity during their free time.