Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and cannot afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

The society has become a mirror through which many people look for perfection. This notion that a person must attain a level of relevance, possess some valuables, or have a great achievement to be accepted has affected the perception of life and what it entails. The societal value system has done more harm than good because it further deepens the level of social stratification that is, First, Middle and Lower Class. Some individuals get into debt by purchasing items they do not need and cannot afford. One might then ask, what could be the reasons for this awful behaviour? First, the level of expectation posed by the public makes a person who wants to impress others acquire possessions that are not needed. Thus, applying for credit cards with minimal knowledge of how it should be used then lands in huge debit balances and finds it difficult to repay. For example, buying a designer car or clothing beyond a person’s salary is a misplaced priority as this will lead to debt. To add, a typical example of this is peer pressure. Consequently, discontent can be a causal factor. Anyone who is not content with whatever he or she has will bite more than they can chew. Nevertheless, it could also be because of a psychological disorder such as depression. Research has shown that buying what someone does not need shows the person is depressed. Furthermore, the habitual effect is another point to note. There is a known fact that people’s habit speaks a lot about their lives. For instance, subscribing to black Friday sales at stores and filling up our houses with numerous grocery we do not need but because these groceries are on discounts, we tend to use credit and exceeding the limit. Alternatively, these problems can be avoided by organizing somebody’s needs and want accordingly. For example, having a scale of preference showing less important, vital, and urgent needs. However, having credits to spend could be tempting but with discipline by avoiding flash sales and advertisement that might seem eye-catching. Finally, taking a stand against peer pressure is an action to embrace to prevent this horrible and selfish behaviour. Accepting oneself regardless of what other people say or what the society portrays is a steppingstone to curbing this. In my view, having a monthly budget and a daily to-do-list serve as a guide for me. With this, I can distinguish between my physiological needs. Thus, I find it easy to manage my finances. In conclusion, understanding the pros and cons of debts will assist individuals in organizing what should be purchased now, later, or never.