The government should make people take responsibility for their actions to the environment . To what extent do you agree.

The way that the government deal with social and natural problems reflects in people ’s behaviour. Part of the population believes that the government should not make people take responsibility for their actions regarding the environment while others claim that this should be mandatory in order to prevent more natural damages. This essay will explore both perspectives and stand for those who defend that people should be charged for their actions, especially the ones related to environmental issues. On the one hand, supporters of not not charging the population accordingly to their actions regarding nature claim that people cannot be aware of all the consequences that their actions might generate. Furthermore, another argument is that only the government has the correct tools to educate people and develop policies in order to stimulate society to take care and manage properly their natural resources. For instance, the government of Canada had been awarded three times in previous United Nations conferences for their effectiveness educating people and taking responsibility for diminishing environmental problems. On the other hand, the necessity of creating an efficient policy to manage millions of people might be extremely expensive and not affordable for the majority of countries throughout the world. Therefore, transfering responsibility to individuals, punishing the ones that commit crimes against the environment, seems more convenient and practical. To illustrate that situation, countries that created severe penalties for those who damage the environment, such as Russia, had satisfactory results combating deforestation and ilegal commerce of endangered species. To conclude, although it is possible to point out some benefits of making the government taking responsibility for people ’s actions regarding the environment, it is more practical and affordable transfering the responsibility for individuals.