These days, more people are going to university than in the past. They start work later in life and with higher qualifications. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there are more citizens enrolled in the university than it was in the past. There is also a tendency in which people take more time studying before start Change the form of the verb starting show examples their professional career, hence they acquire better qualifications during this process. Although this phenomenon brings positive and negative effects that should be considered, I believe that the positive effects pale in comparison to the drawbacks. The competition in modern society has pushed youngsters to extend their student careers in order to be prepared to the labour market. Therefore, many people, nowadays, start their professional career with high qualifications and totaly prepared to solve theoretical problems regarding their professions. This stream might affect positively some economical sectors that require high skilled workers such as some research in robotics or cutting edge technology. For instance, thirty-five per cent of employees hired for Tesla Motors, the major technological car company in the world, is considered a high skilled professional. Nevertheless, the benefits commented before do not overcome the negative effects that this movement has been unravelling in individuals’ lives. The longer teenagers have to wait to start their careers, the longer they have to rely on their family support. Hence, mental diseases such as anxiety and depression have been becoming common among this generation. To illustrate this, a group of Canadian psychologists have published an study that demonstrate how harmful is for young adults self-esteem not being able to afford their own expenses. To conclude, although some positive effects could be connected with starting professional careers later in life with more qualifications, I definitely believe that the negative effects overcome the positive ones and might affect permanentely the self-esteem of numerous young adults who have been waiting to be financially independent.