Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Whether you are walking down a path, driving across the city, watching television from the comfort of your homes or reading a newspaper, one thing which is common to see across all these activities are advertisements. Advertisements could play a dual role of either providing knowledge of new articles or enduce customers to buy something which they do not require. The core question to answer is what is more impactful? Advertisers usually use a push strategy which forces someone to buy things which they may not need. For instance a particular advertisement may be repeated multiple times on various media platforms just to introduce a product in the subconcious minds of individuals. Further, certain products are linked to a famous personality which attract people to buy them. In my personal experience, i had bought an expensive pair of shoes only because my favourite actor was endorsing the brand. However, i never wanted any additional pair of shoes. As it is rightly said, every coin has two sides to it. Advertisements inform us about new inventions and new varients of products available. They enable us to save money by not only comparing competitive products but also learning about new discount schemes. In addition, they provide knowledge about healthy products and why particular ingredients could be harmful. As an expample, i stopped having unhealthy and fried chips and replaced it by a healthier snack which were baken and gluten free. In conclusion, advertisements are of utmost importantance not only for the consumers but also for the economy. In my opinion, people definately have the ability to decide and choose which products are important for them. Further, the benefits of advertisement are far more than effective than the harm they could do to the society.