Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is commonly believed that students should focus on studying certain subjects, such as science and technology, at the university rather than wasting their time on studying less important courses. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because it prevents them from following their dreams and passion. Advocates of forcing students to take scientific courses claim that it would significantly contribute to creating a better future for them and their society. They may assert that a specific area of studies, such as medicine, engineering, and information technology, provides more job opportunities, career progression, and financial security. On the societal level, the intensive emphasis on these particular subjects could lead to bridge the gap in skills and knowledge in which economy need them for further advancement. This would result in improving the quality of a student's life and creating enormous future prosperity for society. On the other hand, opponents of this view argue that students should have the freedom to opt for what they want to study. This is because they are more likely to be more creative and innovative when they study a course they have more interest in it. If a university imposes restrictions on their studies preferences, they are more likely to quit or have less motivation for achieving success in the future. The students of art and history may change the way people are thinking about life and encourage them to always look out of the box. Thereby, this kind of inspiration can not be found in other scientific fields, which sorely focus on numbers and theories. To sum up, despite the advantages of forcing students to take particular courses, it seems sensible that studying a course of their choice would help them to stimulate their development and broaden their horizons.