Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Human beings have many distinguished treats on this planet, and one of them is the ability to see and feel colours. Research throughout the decades has shown that colours definitely affect our feelings and therefore attention should be given to colour details when decorating workplaces and other venues. In this essay I will analyse the reason for this and then I will look at how much it affects our health and ability to work. Colours can define a theme of a place and influence the people attending the place on a daily basis. Also colours can be used to organize and divide sections in a single building. Hospitals for example are white themed by default, and it is not a hidden fact that white can be relaxing for a lot of patients with chronic cases. Yet we can see at almost any given hospital that sections are distinguished by colours, as the cardiovascular treatment section is red for example. Workplaces such as offices are places where people spend a big chunk of their day. Therefore, it is worth creating a pleasant environment in their offices or workplaces, by choosing colours that can be pleasant to the employees that are going to spend much of their day at work, as this will definitely increase their productivity. In addition, colours can reflect the actual theme of the business and give the employee a sense of belonging to that institution. Some businesses also give their employees the freedom of decorating their offices in the colours of their choosing. It is not debatable that colours are essential. Choosing colours according to different tastes is what makes us human in the first place because each and every feeling has its own colour which reflects it.The same concept applies to colour schemes at workplaces and public venues. The smarter the choice, the better the outcome.