Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that young people have to do some volunteer work for their local community whenever they have a spare time because this can be beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because teenagers are not obliged to do unpaid job during their free time. The main reason that justify the disagreement with this view is that young people have a burden of school work. Their teachers and parents expect them to do their homworks, projects, and exam revisions on the top of attending the lessons everyday. If they are forced to volunteer in a charitable event, such as raisng funds for poor people, they would encounter enormous pressure to balance between their studies and unpaid work responsibilties. Another paramount reason, this can deminish the importance of the volunteer work in terms of its value and message. when students are forced to do something they do not have interest in it, they would grow a negative notion against it, and therefore they feel resentment and angry. This would significantly contribute to undermine the benefits of doing unpaid work for the society because the essense of the this work is rely on showing willingness to offer help so that they could effectively learn how to support their communities. To sum up, it is clear that young people may hate volunteering if they are forced to do it because they have school responsibilities. Moreover it could probably distort the moral and ethical value of volunteering.