City dwellers seldom socialize with their neighbors today, and the sense of community has been lost. Why did this happen? And how can this be solved?

It is true that nowadays citizens rarely communicate with people living the next door and have no community sense. There are ample reasons accounting for this problem, which can be tackled with several methods. There are various causes why neighbours do not socialize. Firstly, habitants in cities, coming from many parts of the country, vary in their cultural backgrounds. They may speak their own dialects and have different eating habits, unlike neighbours in the ancient world. Secondly, people living in urban areas lead a busy and high pace life. It is difficult for them to meet each other except in the elevators. They might be so hectic that they have no time to join community activities. Finally, with more and more crimes arising, individuals would rather spend time on their phones or other self-entertainment tools instead of socializing with someone they are not familiar with. The solution does exist to build up a good relationship between neighbours. To begin with, it is necessary for citizens to remember that relatives far away are not as helpful as neighbours nearby. Besides, communities should encourage people to participate in community services on weekends and reward those who perform a good job. What is more, governments are supposed to provide compulsory education to all children to help them set up a moral value system and punish those committing a crime. Only in this way will people feel safe and open their hearts to strangers. In conclusion, different cultural backgrounds, busy life and growing crimes are factors leading to the indifference among neighbours. Individuals, communities and governments should take action to solve the problem together.