car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam.' how true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past thirty years, there is an increasing number in individuals having their own cars. This trend, however, causes one big major problem across the world which is traffic jam. Therefore, in this essay, I would like to examine this statement as well as give the suggestion for the governments regarding that matter and provide a plausible conclusion about that. To begin with, it is 100% true that the rapid increase in the car ownership has lead to a big traffic jam. Why did I say that? It is simply because of some examples that have been occured widely, one of them, for instance: In Indonesia, having our own cars is a mandatory thought throughout the society. It is believes that the quality of services as long as the passangers security of the public tranport are very bad. Thus, people are more likely to use their private vehicles than public transportation. However, as the result, the amount of time that people spend for commuting is very enormous. The ussual duration from Bogor to Jakarta is just 60 minutes in the rush hours without the traffic jam, but with that occurence, the duration increases to about 120 minutes. This what we called as the big stuck. Secondly, to encounter that problem, it is very wisely for government to do some actions. First of all, since the reason of the upward trend of having private vehicle is the quality and security that the public transportation has, it is very amazing if the government improves it. For example: In Indonesia, there is an undecent transportation, called kopaja. It is basically a bus, but it is not safe to be used as it is very rusty and old. So, it is better to eradicate the kopaja and change them into a modern bus which is much more comfortable and decent for the commuters. On top of that, the authority can impose a higher and progressive tax for the car owners, so that, many people will think twice before they buy it and hopefully, some of them will alleviate their thought and choose to use the public transport. In a nutshell, the statement is really true regarding the fact that happens in the third world countries. Hence, it is very obligated for the authority to fix the public transportations and giving a higher tax for the car owners.