In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there has been widespread controversy about the decision on improving the transportation structure in many countries. One claimed that is better to use the huge volume of funds on building rail line stations between cities. However, some think that the maintenance of current public transit is important. These are two contrasting viewpoints and this essay will discuss both viewpoints while final opinion will be drawn. To start with, supporters of the view that more railway stations should be constructed thought that this will aid in reducing emissions of pollutants to the air. This implies that there will be an improvement in the health quality of the citizens. For instance, Researchers in health care service claimed a significant reduction in patients diagnosed with asthma after the introduction of rail line system in the country. In addition to this, the transportation of goods such as farm products from one city to another will be convenient. Likewise, products that are produced locally will be distributed widely within the country easily. In fact, this can boost the economic status of the country with these market strategies. For example, Dangote Enterprise in Nigeria uses railway stations in transferring cement products. Hence, it is clearly seen that a huge amount of fund should be diverted for the building of train lines. Conversely, opponents of this view alluded that available public transportation structure should be ameliorated by budgeting with a huge amount of capital because it will help to reduce congestion on highways. In other words, transportation on road will be easier and conducive due to less traffic jam. To cite an example, Recent construction of overhead Bridges on highways in Nigeria control traffic problem and make travelling convenient. Furthermore, if more expenses are allocated for already public transports such as the widening of roads, distribution of new buses to drivers will assist in decreasing the occurrence of road accidents. This means that the safety of the citizens will be secured. Consequently, budgeting a huge amount of money to available transit in the country will be beneficial to the citizens at large. In conclusion, this essay discussed two contrasting points about the importance of diverting fund to the building the railways or maintaining the current transports system. In my opinion, I believe that connecting cities by building a new railway station will be preferable because the environment will be safe from air pollution and transportation of good will be easier.