Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that the communication between family members has deteriorated recently. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement because of extended work hours and geographical separation. Firstly, young professionals spend the majority of their time working rather than hanging out with their family, especially their parents. In the past, the average working hours was less than 40 hours per week, so people had spare time on meeting their parents. However, this is no longer a lifestyle at the moment. Young workers usually works way over 40 hours in a week, which leaves them less time on chatting with their parents. Another point to consider is that living far away from other family members discourages people to get in touch. Because of a long-distance communication which is often less effective than a face-to-face conversation, it decreases the excitement of having a conversation with other family members. In other words, both parties involving in the discussion feel less attached because they cannot see others' body language which is crucial for an effective communication. Therefore, people do not want to communicate frequently when they live apart from each other. In conclusion, family members spend much less time on meeting family members due to long hours of work and locations. In the future, technology will hopefully encourage people to connect with their family members.