Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing cheap goods. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have companies that manufacture commodities which lasts for a long time or produce goods that are cheap so it can be afforded by everyone. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe long-lasting products are the better choice. Many argue that the benefits of high-quality long-lasting products considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that reliable long-lasting products can be used for a longer period and the consumers can gain the return of investment from the long period of usage. It is also possible to say that the maintenance requirement also less for reliable products. One good illustration of this is that many people buy good quality furniture items and they change those in their lifetime. On the other hand, others believe that economical products are much better because everyone can afford it. There is a big percentage of people living in poverty and they cannot afford costly goods. It is often argued that a huge percentage of the money we are paying is used to cover the advertisements, campaigns and brand value instead of the quality of the products. People often have this opinion because many tasted the bitterness of advertisement and victim of marketing strategies. A particularly good example here is the toys exported from China, the same producer will produce similar toys for different companies and the company having a big brand name charge much higher compared to others. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that products long-lasting have upper edge comparing to cheap products. This is because long last products can use for a very long period without additional spending to maintain it.