University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether or not university students should only focus on their field of expertise or other subjects as well, is a heated debate. I strongly believe that students should focus on just one major subject even though I agree that they also should study a range of subjects. To begin with, there are many reasons which are important when considering the students ’ study in one only major. First and foremost, students can become experts if they study about one subject. Moreover, they allocate their time and energy to the subject which is a passion for them, which is believed to result in a huge success. Also, provided that they are able to concentrate on only one subject, they can go into an employment by impressing recruiters. As a result, they can gain a high-paid position in this field thus these people feel pretty confident. On the other hand, university students are supposed to be encouraged to learn a variety of subjects and explore their skills at the university. Firstly, before students graduate from university, they can gain experience in other subjects which are not the student's specialty. This way, they ameliorate their communication skills, understanding skills and problem-solving skills. This situation makes advantage for both their employment and their social life. Take people who go into a job as an example; if they cannot find employment in their profession, they can get any job in relation to their other subjects. To sum up, I reiterate my opinion in the light of the information given above and I think that being an expert about one only major brings them success even though I agree that studying a range of subjects is beneficial for university students.