Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that whether History is a subject as important as Science and Technology in the current world. On the one hand, students learn history to find their cultural backgrounds. On the other hand, they are supposed to get the hang of knowledge about Science and Technology, which help them obtain a well-paid job. In my opinion, we should attach the same importance to History as Science and Technology. There were several reasons why History is a crucial subject. To begin with, students find their cultural identity and get to know where they come from by learning History, otherwise they might get lost in a world full of distractions. Besides, knowing what happened in the past helps us make decisions when we face a similar dilemma like our ancestors. What is more, the authorities also benefit from historical facts on how ancient governments policies responded to public demands and big events like climate change before implementing policies. There is no doubt that subjects such as Science and Technology should be compulsory. Firstly, it is hard for technological blindness to live in the modern world. If we do not master use of phones and computers, we will lose contact with the world and every aspect of our life from traveling and shopping will be affected. Secondly, more and more companies only recruit individuals with proficient technological skills. Unless we get skillful in using computers, we will not find a job with a high salary. In conclusion, History and Science and Technology show us different angles of the world and they both matter.