In order to change their appearance people often turn to plastic surgery. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such an approach?

Recently, it becomes more popular to take plastic surgery since people have become wealthier and their aesthetic appreciations have changed. For some people, especially young adults, they often turn to it. However, this brings both pros and cons. In the following essay, I will discuss the benefits of plastic surgery and the risks behind it. On the one hand, there are some advantages to turning to surgical methods. One obvious example can be viewed as a foundation of self-esteem. Some people who feel humble to their appearances and afraid to talk with others now have opportunities to change this situation. After modifying their outlook, they will be more confident, as well as improving their mental health. As a result, this group can improve their interpersonal skills and relationships with colleagues by communicating more with others. In addition, admittedly, a good appearance is more beneficial in the aspects of career, marriage, cooperation and so on. On the other hand, although there are numerous merits of turning to surgical operation, drawbacks of this method cannot be ignored. Firstly, it could be risky to take this surgery. If individuals were injured in the operation, the scar would accompany them for the rest of lifespan, which is a permanent hurt for all victims. In addition, the potential of outlook becoming artificial after the surgical process is huge and physiognomy may be much worse than the original one. Finally, it is a considerable expenditure for the family that has a relatively low income. Some of this group may use a bank loan to take the surgical procedure, which put a heavy financial burden on the whole family and exert a deleterious effect on their daily life. In conclusion, it is never easy to make up minds about changing appearance, thus, those people who are willing to turn to plastic surgery must consider the pros, such as the foundation of confidence, and cons, such as high price and risks of operations.