People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is true that the consumption of drinks with added sugar is increasing globally, even in less developed countries. While a number of factors explain this trend, some countries have taken measures to reduce the intake of sweetened drinks. Heavy marketing is the principal reason why the consumption of sugar-based drinks has increased rapidly. This trend is of concern to the World Health Organisation because it carries health risks, including life-threatening conditions such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and certain types of cancer. The soft- drinks manufacturers advertise their products to a target audience of young children and adolescents. This strategy encourages youngsters to form the lifetime habit of buying these drinks, as they are soon addicted to the high sugar content. They put on weight, are prone to obesity and find it difficult to keep their teeth healthy. There are three measures that would be effective in tackling the rise in the popularity of sugary drinks. Firstly, governments should raise taxes on the sales of soft drinks. This has been done in France, for example, and could be implemented by other countries, too. Secondly, vending machines must be removed from public places, discouraging the consumption of sugary drinks in schools, bus stations, cinemas and hospitals. Finally, health awareness campaigns on TV and the internet could help in combatting the promotion of soft drinks by marketing agencies, including the compulsory addition of health warnings on labels, as in the case of tobacco products. In conclusion, although the promotion of soft drinks has resulted in increased sales, effective steps can be taken to reverse this trend.