it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The early phases of a person's life are crucial and whatever he\she learns at this age helps create their personality and stays till death. So, it is absolutely important for these children to learn the distinction between good and bad and right and wrong. Punishment is one such means that help us, the adults, to mould these children and instils the sense of discipline among them. Therefore, I completely agree with the notion that punishment is necessary to help them learn this important distinction. However, punishing children does have its disadvantages and can disrupt the child's path of life. Punishment is crucial as it instils fear among the children. It makes them understand that doing or saying those things can lead to punishment and thus, helps them distinguish between right and wrong. For instance, a newborn child always tries to put their fingers in his\her mouth, but we, adults, know that this is wrong and shouldn't be done. We then light slap at that child's hand and tell them not to do, they sense this and they avoid doing so. However, if we keep punishing them for every wrong they do, they will turn rigid against such punishments. Hence, it is absolutely important to keep our actions in check while punishing them. The parents and the teachers are very crucial in developing the personality of a child. The way they treat their kid or student becomes a part of their personality. Thus, while punishing them, they need to be extra careful of their actions and should be motivating and not make them feel low whenever they do wrong. Punishment should be verbal that makes them emotional and makes them understand the wrong they did and not at all bully or embarrass them. It shouldn't be physical at all, as it can be vulnerable to a minor and he\she may get seriously injured. To conclude, I would like to repeat my thoughts on the notion that punishment is crucial in making the kid understand the distinction between right and wrong. Nevertheless, it is absolutely necessary that the means of punishment should be kept in check, otherwise it can disrupt the life of path for these children and will fail the very motive of us.