Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organization. What might be the cause? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the modern world, the tendency to be self-employed has seen a long-term gradual increase. While some people believe that this movement is absolutely positive, this has its drawbacks. The following essay will examine the main reason for people to opt for this kind of work, and I will also describe the negative sides of this tendency. To begin with, one predominant nuance which contributes to the beneficial aspects of self-employment is that it helps to maintain a work -life balance. To put it differently, due to the fact that many corporations are always in competition with each other, they will put pressure on their employees to work harder, and it leads to an unstable schedule for people. As a case in point, I work for a multinational company, and I often spend long hours in the office, because my management assigns a multitude of tasks to me on a daily basis. Thus, in order to avoid the same situation, many people decided to alter their daily routine, so they chose to be self-employed. However, such an option has several disadvantages like the lack of communication and stability. First of all, by opting for self-employment, humans usually start spending the majority of their day at home, so it entails the minimum level of communication with other people. In other words, a job in a company provides a unique opportunity to be in constant contact with colleagues, whereas self-employment can probably lead to loneliness. In addition, this type of work is less resistant to different economical or social situations, so it does not offer the same level of stability as the opposite option. To illustrate this, during the recent situation with coronavirus, a variety of small businesses in Russia were closed because they could not survive and tackle the pressing complications. In conclusion, the movement towards self-employment is all too familiar nowadays. From my point of view, the main cause of such a tendency is the possibility to maintain a better life schedule. But poor stability and the missing of communication can potentially detract from the beneficial aspects of this.