Some people feel that entertainers (e.g. film stars, pop musicians or sports stars) are paid too much money. Do you agree or disagree? Which other type of job should be highly paid?

Across professions, celebrities are highest paid professionals, which many people think is too much for their job. While, people employed as teachers or front-line workers should also earn high income but it doesn’t mean entertainers should have lower pay. On the one hand, lifestyle of these stars look entincing and full of pleasures but majority fails to understand the reality behind the scenes. To begin with, these celebs, needs to be constantly train for tremendous hours each day to hone their skills, which then helps them to deliver impactful performance and enthral audience. For example, Sachin Tendulkar’s 226 runs in India – Australia test series was attained after practicsing 14 hours every day. Furthermore, these celebrity icons not only generate income for themselves but also for other allied profession directly or indirectly, thus they are employee generators too. As per, India’s 2021 Financial budget, these entertainers contributed to 10% of employment generation and 2% of total GDP. On the other hand, there are many other professions such as teachers, front line workers and police personnel who still haven’t got their right dues in terms of income and are still part of lower income group, they play immense role in shaping and safe guarding the future of our country by providing self-less services. Additionally, they also help in maintaining social balance and ethical values of country by imparting knowledge in society. For instance, if it weren’t for front line workers, Covid cases in India would have been 80 million by now but they worked hard to sanitize entire nation. To conclude, in my opinion while celebrities earning high income is absolutely alright but equal emphasis should be made to uplift income level of other job role such as those in education and healthcare sectors.