The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Last decade has seen boom in online shopping thanks to internet revolution and expansion of E-commerce sector which not only delivered goods at the doorsteps but also provided variety of options to select from. This has led to big time shift in the way people nowdays shop and as per the trends published by Times Lifestyle publications physical foot falls in stores have reduced by 50% in cities and 35% in towns; which will eventually led to closure of shops in next 2-3 decades as per the article and in my opinion I agree with the view point of closure of physical store in coming future. I would like to highlight the reasons for my views and convienence is the most important factor here, as online shopping has enabled consumers to shop for anything and everything across the world just through their mobile phones or laptops with just few clicks and get the goods delivered right in your home. This has reduced physical and geographical boundaries for example one can order real Belgium chocolates from Natures Basket which wouldn’t be available in local stores of Mumbai. Another reason which supports the viewpoint is customers are catered to experience and choose from variety of options that are shown to them online compared to physical stores, there are numerous options in term of designs, colour and size as per the requirement of shoppers. The same is supported by research publish Change the form of the verb published show examples in Forbes lifestyle that shopping portals like Amazon or Alibaba provides minimum 30 options for each type of style to choose from giving more variety to shop. Digital shopping saves lot of time is another major reason as to why people has shifted to new way of buying goods as they get to save on an average of 2 to 3 hours of travel and payment time at physical stores as per study conducted New York Times and they could now do other extra activities in the time saved. Lastly the spurt in digital shopping is because of attractive discounts and cashbacks by the companies especially during festivals for example Amazon had 10 billion dollar sales during Diwali in India due to its attractive discounts. Hence because of above key reasons I agree with the thought that shops in towns and cities will lead to closure due to increase in online shopping.