Statement: Some people prefer to do physical activities to relax, while others choose mental activities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some who choose to do physical exercise to destress, while others prefer mental activities. Although, in my opinion, both types of activities provide relaxation, this essay will discuss both views. To begin with, physical exercise like playing tennis or running on a treadmill will make the brain release chemicals like Adrenaline that can help any human body to rejuvenate from the stress that it has acquired over the day. For example, some people prefer to run on a treadmill or workout in the gym every day and take a hot bath to refresh themselves before going to work as a post-gym bath with hot water will help the muscles to relax and activate the body senses. As a result, this consequence of physical work can help people to relax. On the contrary, mental games like chess would make its participants focus on strategies and relieve them from the mental burden of their daily job and thereby refresh their brain. Most of the times, problem solvers like designers or architects need a break from their usual job when they get stuck with practical challenges. However, in order to solve those issues, they need an open head to focus back on the problem and games like chess would help them obtain that state of an open head. To illustrate this, software companies like Google and Facebook keep chess boards on their premises help their employees attain a state of open mind and solve the practical issues at hand. Therefore the merit of performing such mental activities is to attain an open mind which is another form of individual relaxation. In conclusion, some would like to relax by doing physical work and others prefer to perform mental tasks. In my opinion, both physical and mental exercises can help individuals to relax and every type of activity has its own benefits. So, It depends on the personal preference of anyone on how to relax one's self.