Some people say that parents should place restrictions on the time their children spend watching TV and playing games and encourage them to spend this time reading books. Do you agree or disagree?

Children's free time has always been a concern for parents. The unregarded attention on how it is spent can be faced with consequences, such as low performance in school or exposure to unfitted content. For that, some parents believe that books should be prefered over TV and games, and I tend to agree with them. First of all, spending long periods in front of screens can cause health damages. The fixed vision and the lack of body movement are not recommended for individuals in development. For instance, it has been acknowledged that the muscular effort to maintain a short focus continuously might increase early myopia and provoke headaches. Secondly, reading has an outstanding effect on creativity when it comes to a habit. Since books demand imagination and usually do not deliver images for pure consumption, the reader has the chance to exercise his interpretation based on limited descriptions. Nonetheless, the constant contact with texts tends to improve grammar and writing skills, which ought to serve as a great resource through one's life and professional future. However, TV programs and video games are not worthless. Both media can offer a great deal of information, varied content and even learning processes, such as rule applications and solving problems. An example of that is games that present a puzzle and demand logic and mathematical comprehension. Nevertheless, feeling enjoyment is one of the fastest and most efficient ways to enlightenment and learning. To sum up, although the time spent on games or in front of the television might result in some benefits, spending it on books brings the reward in the future with a clever mind that is capable of abstraction, self-expression and creativity.