As compared to the past, children these days spend most of their leisure time indoors with computers and tv and less time outdoors. Describe one of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution

Nowadays, electronic devices are responsible for most of the recreation time of the youth. Seldom do they do some open air activities. This can lead to several issues, and therefore demands to be addressed as outlined below. There is no doubt that cancer and cardiovascular diseases are the main cause of deaths and morbidity in our society. The reason for this is mostly the sedentarism and low quality nutrition. Since birth, parents interfere with the natural behaviour of their children, forbidding them to run or to play on the streets, due to the high rate of urban violence. In addition, they seek for quiet homes where it is possible to peacefully work on their never ending tasks to afford their family liabilities. As a result, an apparently magic solution to cease the crying and screaming of their prole is to give them colourful screens to interact. However, this short time solution creates a huge problem in a long term analysis: the lack of physical activity since young age and the use of snacks as daily basis nourishment can cost much more than the parents could ever earn on their excessive journeys. Thus, the solution for this is to count these costs when they are keen to get extra hours and organize their agenda to have some time to spend with their family, doing regular physical activities and having decent meals together. In recent years, mental health has become a trending topic of several conversations. Human interaction, especially among an individual inner circle, is crucial for having a healthy mental development. Either adults and children suffer with tough routines, with huge intervals being alone. In addition, the difficulty of finding places to do some exercise together contributes to this. As the streets become dangerous, an alternative is to have a club, gym or a sports centre membership and schedule those events on their weekly activities. Actually, electronic devices such as video games that have motion control can be used at home for this purpose. In conclusion, these gadgets are not evil. However, it is the use of them that matters. If screen time is programmed and limited, with human interaction and body movement included, mental and corporal health can be achieved To sum up, it is essential to consider long term consequences when programming our family activities. I wholeheartedly believe that it is possible to provide a safe environment for our children even with this technology if we learn how to use it in our favour.