In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing , people feel less safe than ever before. What are the cause of this problem and what measures could be take to solve it

It is reported in some nations that the rates of criminal activities are declining, however, people often feel less secure compared to the past. The major cause of this problem is poor cyber security and the most viable solution is publicity awareness campaign. The principal reason why public feel less safer than before is because of the inadequate safety they receive from the cyber world. Due to the unparalleled development in technology, cybercrimes have been increasing tremendously and more and more people fall into this day-by-day. As a result of this, the citizens often loss their money and identity and in most of such cases, the victims remain silent. For example, a recent government survey in the USA, stated that there has been a 30% of hike in cybercrimes reported in the year 2020. A long-term solution to this predicament is by launching public awareness campaign in media and schools to educate about the dangers of unauthorised webpages and fraudulent sites. An awareness program should shed some light on this situation and people are likely to be more alert while using the internet. For example, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 45% decrease in the crimes associated with cyber world. In conclusion, citizens of some countries feel less secure while comparing to the bygone days is due to the poorer web security they have while using the internet. However, it can be addressed through educating people about the dangers of unauthenticated websites. It is recommended that more governments should also take similar initiatives in order to prevent computer crimes in future.