In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Very few individuals give adequate thoughts on how they will survive when they are aged. All of us will certainly grow old at some point and we will get to a stage where we will need help for almost everything. Should the family or the government be responsible for bearing the cost of looking after elderly people in care homes? In this essay, I will discuss some of the factors that should be considered when thinking about this area of care -giving. First, older people in our society need to cultivate the habit of making proper plans for their health and wellbeing, especially before they advance in age. For example, they need to save enough funds to ensure that, after retirement from active service, they do not become a burden to their families and to society at large. We all know that providing care to the elderly ones amongst us can be expensive and time-consuming. Hence, the need for our senior citizens to give adequate thought to this area by ensuring that they set aside enough money that will last them for their lifetime to cover their projected lifestyle, including the cost of living in a care home. In addition, where an individual is unable to cover this cost, I believe his/her family should be able to step in. For instance, I come from a country where homes for the elderly are not very rampant, and most people accommodate their aged parents in their houses, taking it as one of their responsibilities to cater for the needs of their mother or father when they come of age. However, in the event that someone is old and does not have the funds to afford a care home or a family to stay with, the government should be able to step-in by helping the vulnerable and elderly ones in society. This can be achieved through adequately funding non-governmental organizations that take care of our senior citizens. In conclusion, both the government and the family have a role to play in ensuring that the elderly people are given the right care that they deserve and proper planning needs to be made to sure that the needs of older citizens to addressed without necessarily treating them as a burden.