Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the impacts of advertisements which are ubiquitous all over the world. In my opinion, this means of marketing brings about more benefits than drawbacks. First, it is clear that the popularity of advertisements could do more wonders for customers in terms of information. As a matter of fact, advertising introduces a variety of data about a newly-launched product, ranging from the price, the range of user’s age to the instruction. For example, the advertisement of paracetamol demonstrates almost all the features, including the benefit of headache relief, the 5 or over range of age, and the instruction to take it effectively. Given that they provide customers a plenty of details, enabling buyers to compare and choose the most appropriate product among various shops. Although advertisements sometimes pop out while individuals are watching a movie, making them upset, the merit is more considerable than the disadvantage. More importantly, the increasing number of advertisements could contribute directly to boosting the annual revenues of companies in both short term and long term. In spite of the fact that to have their advertisement occupied newspapers, TV or radio, enterprises have to pay a great deal of money, the outcomes achieved would be much greater. To be more specific, in short term, advertisements may bridge the gap between customers and manufacturers so as to trigger them to buy impulsively. Regarding long-term aspect, advertising could create a brand recognition and identity, then maintain them in the minds of customers, building the long-term relationship with them. By doing so, consumers tend to come back and keep buying products of those companies, which is seen as one of the key factors to increase companies’ sales. In conclusion, despite of several negative impacts, the growing prevalence of advertising throughout the globe can do more good for both customers and companies.