The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The expenditure of a nation is of interest to many, as it greatly determines the progression of the economy. Furthermore, some people argue that the money expended on an exhibitions and musical shows should be diverted to more profitable ventures such as health care and education. I am inclined to agree wholesomely with the latter sentiment as the pillars of society rest on the well-being and knowledge strength of the population. One key area of the economy that requires funds is health.In,Korea one of the major problems that affect the population is illness such as the pox virus, particularly in the elderly, this causes the mortality rate to be high. Furthermore, when more funds are invested into areas such as research and development of vaccines that will boost immunity to sickness, this will go a long way to persevere the health of the people, and poses more benefits when compared to musical concerts. Another sector that requires the attention of the government is education. Research from Nigeria Today reports that aside from infrastructure, a major dent in the growth of Nigeria is poor quality education. Moreover, the strength of a nation is easily seen through the interest in education. The enlightenment of the population is a more useful way for the government to invest the sweat of taxpayers, as a reduction in ignorance will spur up innovation and creativity required to boost the marketability of a country. To conclude, leaders of society should be prudent with finances. I fully agree that funds disbursed into entertainment are of no benefit to society. Although, if such capital is invested in more cogent areas such as hospital and educational infrastructures, it will bode well for the country and yield better returns in the nearest future.