Promotions to higher levels should be from within a company and not to be a new hire from outside. Do you agree or disagree?

It is proposed that in order to fill the higher posts in an organization, internal employees ought to be promoted instead of hiring external candidates. My views fall in inclination with this practice and are discussed in the following paragraphs. Admittedly/on the one hand, some people believe that recruiting candidates from other firms may bring fresh exposure and skills to the organization. Since they have been working in a different company, they are familiar with various kinds of strategies in contrast to internal employees. Nevertheless, this concern is not strong founded as the same skills can be inculcated in the existing employees by providing them training pertaining to new positions. Therefore, an ideology of making internal employees familiar with the fundamentals of higher roles can teach them to become more talented employees. On the other hand, the paramount reason in this context is that with promoting an internal staff member to higher posts, a sufficient amount of expenses can be saved. It is generally viewed that outside employees are often hired at a way much salary than existing ones as they tend to change the firm in an attempt to acquire a hike in their remuneration. A case in point is that in the wake of filling a position of a director or a president in any organization, applications would be received from the same level from outside and the candidates would demand at least a 20-30% increment in their salaries. However, internal employees can be promoted at a less percentage hike for the same position. Thus, this will not only pave a way for the growth of existing employees but also benefit the organization in managing the finances. To fortify further, another aspect is that internal employees have been working with the company for a long time and are more comfortable with the culture and other staff. This is primarily for a fact that higher roles are needed to be aware of each and every aspect of a firm so that they can run it efficiently. In fact, it is because of the long duration spent in the company that an existing employee can understand better the strengths and weaknesses of other staff members in contrast to any other candidate hired from outside, who would have a bare idea about the mindset of the staff. This, in turn, proves beneficial while solving any problem arisen working at a higher level. In the gist of the above contents, it can be concluded that although a person hired from outside might have more knowledge than an internal one, yet promoting an existing employee is far more beneficial for an employee as well as a firm.