Traffic congestion is a major problem in most large cities ,nowadays. What are the causes of traffic congestion in cities? What could the government do to reduce this problem?

The increasing growth of big cities can produce several side-effects. An issue that has been recently in the spotlight is traffic congestion and all the problems that come with it. This essay will explore the main causes of this topic, as well as present a few opportunities to mitigate its negative impacts. To begin with, let us explore the main reasons behind the surge in traffic. Firstly, to have a big number of cars in the streets there must be a huge number of people living nearby, which is the definition of overcrowding. To exemplify, it is easy to see that in big cities like New York there is an ever-increasing number of skyscrapers built downtown which are certainly contributing to the problem. Secondly, not only there is a concentration of people but also of companies. Important law firms, hedge funds and other enterprises always rent offices next to each other. This, in turn, causes the population to commute to the same area every day at the same time periods. Despite what was presented above, there are ways to solve this conflict. To start with, the government could incentivize remote work. If people could work from home there would be no need for them to be physically present at offices, thus eliminating the daily commute. This phenomenon is happening around the world at big companies, especially after the covid-19 pandemic. In addition to that, another way of mitigating traffic congestion is by increasing investments in infrastructure. Many studies have shown that when governments start to expand subway lines, buy more buses and create bicycle lanes there is an astounding decrease in traffic jams. To illustrate this, the Netherlands promotion of bicycle usage has produced some amazing positive impacts. To conclude, with the global population increasing and moving to big cities, conflicts are certain to arise. The concentration of companies and overcrowding definitely contribute to the surge in traffic congestion, however, promoting remote work and investing in infrastructure are proven ways to reduce this harm. Governments around the globe should start to work on the solutions right now so that positive changes will be able to be seen in the upcoming future.