The culture of different places are now looking similar in modern times. What do you think are the causes of this? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

In this contemporary era, cultural differences are disappearing in most part of the world. The reasons for this is frequent travel and massive scale media outreach. In my opinion, this development would adversely affect the local cultures, and it would demolish local traits and traditions. To begin with, the world is now a global village and this has affected many indigenous cultures. This is because as people regularly travel internationally, they now bring foreign culture back home. For instance, many non-resident Pakistani when visit Pakistan tend to follow the western culture and celebrate festival such as Halloween and Christmas rather than Eid. As a result, the local traditions and festivals such as Bassant are no longer celebrated. Furthermore, electronic and social media has influenced many individuals and communities to follow a unified culture and fashion. Thus, these factors encouraged people to follow global culture and festivals rather than their own. In my view, similar customs and traditions have certain demerits that can not be overlooked. Firstly, when people tend to follow and admire global customs, the local values and norms will lose their significance. To illustrate, if people start following foreign culture, it will be hard to preserve local literature, heritage, past accomplishments and language. Consequently, a lack of interest of people would cause many communities to lose their identity and uniqueness. In conclusion, a similar culture is followed because people bring back foreign culture when they travel abroad and sometimes media also persuade them to stick to the global culture. However, I believe it is an issue of great concern for indigenous communities as they will lose their identity and obligate their historic achievements.