Some people think computer games have negative impacts on children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computer games are at a surge these days. It is believed by few that playing on the computer can have an adverse effect on kids. I somewhat agree that overindulgence is harmful, however, it is acceptable if played within limits. To begin with, online games are highly addictive and keep oneself engaged and captivated for an extensive period of time. This certainly, leads to a waste of time and takes away a large chunk of their routine which could have been utilised in studies or other activity. It has been concluded through various researches that children get a high dopamine rush which makes them glued to the screen. For instance, mission games are programmed to give a thrill and give rewards to their brain in form of accomplishment. Moreover, kids tend to develop a habit of living a sedentary lifestyle and tend to stick to the couch for hours. Consequently, this leads to many health-related problems such as obesity. Such a lifestyle invites many other problems such as over-dependencies and mental issues too. For example, the latest article published in the New York times convinced us to believe that overindulgence in playing computer games has been one of the reasons for obesity and short attention span. Therefore, kids are found to have less concentration power and focus on their studies. To summarize, playing video games may give a thrill and enjoyment for some time but if played excessively then it leads to the aforementioned consequences. After a thorough analysis on this subject, it can be concluded that playing online is not a good substitute for other games.