Some people believe that university should offer places for people with high marks, Others says that universities accept all age of people even if they do not well at schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

When it comes to higher education there is a debate on the spots that universities should offer. While some people believe that only students with better academic performance should be eligible, others believe that everyone should be included. This essay discusses these both views and explains why I support the former opinion. On the one hand, some people argue that everyone should have the opportunity to obtain a degree. First, they think education is necessary for life and, therefore, universities should include all sort of students, despite their academic background. In other words, even though some students do not have good marks, they should have a spot at the university. Second, it is said that higher education is not only desirable but also a basic human right. To illustrate, many countries, such as Brazil and Chile, present in their laws that higher education is a secured right for all citizens. On the other hand, there are those who argue that universities should offer spots only for candidates with high marks. This is because they consider that there are limited places and only the best students should be granted this opportunity. For example, becoming a doctor in Brazil is highly disputed and, as a result, the best way to select candidates is by choosing those who have the best academic background. In addition, it is essential to have a system that chooses the best candidates in order to motivate students to improve their academic performance. If there is not a process like this, students will not be motivated to study hard during high school. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. However, on balance, I believe the best option is choosing students with higher grades. This is because there are limited places and choosing those who have the best marks keep people motivated to do their best.