Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Parents have contradictory views about whether they permit their children to select their daily options, such as what they eat, wear or watch. According to some people, youngsters who do not have intervention by parents are likely to become self-centred. However, the others alert the statement and claim the importance to empower children to make their own decisions. Needless to say, decision-making is a crucial skill as an adult, especially in business. Therefore, it is understandable that mothers and fathers train their youngsters to make their mind because, through the experience, they get used to choosing and telling others about their preference. Meanwhile, they can get confident and independent as a result of treating as an adult. Having said that, nurture and discipline are essential when raising children since they are ignorant what is right or wrong. Therefore, many believe we also need to intervene their decisions. For example, in terms of the eating habit, we should teach them how important the well-balanced diets are, othewise, they might obtain only sweets and snacks instead of fresh vegetables because of the lack of the knowledge about nutrition values. In conclusion, from my perspective, children have to be given the freedom to choose. Nevertheless, the selection should be provided under careful observation by their families since learning self-management also substantially impacts their lives in the long run. I believe that parents restriction could work as a safety net. We should encourage their children to make their own decision by getting rid of the risks or by advising the ideal behaviour.