Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group, while others believe that it is better to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Studies are an integral part of a student’s daily life. It is important to be able to perform well in school as well as in major examinations which set the education system. Therefore, there is a need to study effectively and everyone has their own favorite study methods. In my opinion, I think it is better to study alone than study in a group. This essay will explore the reasons why I prefer studying alone. To begin with, studying alone helps us to focus on specific areas of a subject that we are struggling with, rather than revising the whole topic in a subject. When people study in a group, everyone in the group has different needs, and the study time is required to focus on all of them. For instance, when I was in high school, I found myself wasting my time studying Algebra which I have already mastered, though my group members had some difficulties on that specific topic. I knew that I really needed to focus on Trigonometry, but I just sat uncomfortably through a group study which focused more on Algebra. As a result, I performed worse on the test than I would have if I had just studied alone. Next, there’s fewer distractions when you study by yourself. When you study alone distractions are minimized because there’s no one around to divert your attention and to interact with. You can focus completely on the material and work. It’s sometimes risky when it comes to studying in a group. You can quickly lose your attention and end up procrastinating. For example, everytime I study with my friends, we lose our concentration and waste our time cracking jokes and having meaningless conversations. Thankfully, I have avoided this problem as I have decided to study for exams by myself. In conclusion, I strongly believe that studying alone is better than studying in a group. This is because it allows me to focus on the areas that I need to and I can completely focus on my own work.